Two Iowans were honored for a lifetime of achievement and promotion of Iowa agriculture during the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) annual meeting last week in Des Moines.

Dr. Maynard Hogberg and Charlie Good earned the 2016 Iowa Farm Bureau Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award.

For five decades, Hogberg worked to build and develop strong research and academic programs at two of the most prestigious and internationally recognized animal science departments, in addition to serving on countless agriculture advisory committees and boards.

Good has been a staple of rural Iowa with more than 35 years as an auto repair mechanic, small business owner and a leading advocate for renewable fuels benefiting Iowa farmers.

The Distinguished Service to Agriculture award honors individuals who have played a significant...