Despite many options at the grocery store, meat is still the center of many Iowa meals, as more than 33,000 Iowans entered the Iowa Farm Bureau and Fareway’s “Fill Your Freezer” contest for a chance to win $200 of free meat. The month-long contest was part of Iowa Farm Bureau Federation’s (IFBF) Real Farmers. Real Food. Real Meat. initiative, which showcases the nutritional benefits of meat and the innovation of Iowa livestock farmers who raise it.  

The 2019 Iowa Farm Bureau Food and Farm Index® shows 96 percent of Iowa grocery shoppers eat meat at least weekly and 97 percent consume cheese or dairy products at least once a week.  

“Like many livestock farmers across the state, our family’s number one concern is the care of our animals to help ensure the safest product possible for consumers. The enthusiasm for this contest is a nod to the quality, taste and great value of Iowa-grown meat. We’re grateful for this partnership with Fareway and the connections we can make with consumers who come together to enjoy the nutritional benefits of animal protein with their families,” says IFBF President Craig Hill.

“We are proud to continue our unmatched legacy of providing the best quality meat for our customers and we stand behind the hard-working men and women-the farmers who provide that protein,” said Fareway President and CEO Reynolds W. Cramer. “We will continue to work hard and partner with local farmers to give Iowans the chance to fill their freezers with quality meats from Fareway.”

Experts agree that animal-based protein stands above the rest as the best option for health and weight maintenance, since it is a natural source of Vitamin B12, which dietitians say is crucial to maintain brain and nervous system function.   


Store contest winners listed below:

Adel--Gerald Cruz

Algona--Debra Murphy

Altoona--Pam Dearden

Ames--Susan Niehoff

Ames--Terry Hubby

Ames--Christopher Grosz

Anamosa--Dan Jeffrey

Ankeny--Holly Peters

Ankeny--Pat Olson

Atlantic--Bonnie Knutsen

Belmond--Etter Watne

Bettendorf--Cheri Oliver

Boone--Ida Williams

Burlington--Mark Watterson

Carlisle--Ron Tate

Carroll--Patricia Louis

Cedar Falls--Craig Williamson

Cedar Falls--Kimberly Spier

Cedar Rapids--Elizabeth Bascom

Cedar Rapids--Kathy Wiebold

Centerville--Ed Phillips

Charles City--Byron Lessin

Cherokee--Trudy Schaefer

Clarinda--Anne Sunderman

Clear Lake--Mark Wellik

Clinton--Kathy Casperson

Clive--Lewis Meusburger

Council Bluffs--Mike Brown

Cresco--Matt Rickard

Creston--Deb Lynch

Davenport--Elizabeth Peckenschneider

Decorah--Betty Wagner

Denison--Darla Lloyd

Des Moines--Vivian Srark

Des Moines--Cindy Claussen

Des Moines--Linda Hauser

Dubuque--Carol Krohmer

Dyersville--Dane Wilwert

Eagle Grove--Joyce Jeanblanc

Eldora--Robin Goodlick

Emmetsburg--Melissa Hall

Estherville--Krista Masters

Evansdale--Troy Lindholm

Fort Dodge--Shelly Block

Fort Madison--Kristi Keller

Greenfield--Sharlene Elwood

Grimes--Fran Bears

Grinnell--Candy Albertson

Hampton--Tally Fink

Harlan--Roxanne Petersen

Hiawatha--Mark Dierks

Humboldt--Luke Erpelding

Huxley--Nancy Stensland Cross

Independence--Connie Werling

Indianola--Rande Seuferer

Iowa City--Geoff Burch

Iowa City--Bill Mishler

Iowa Falls--Jason Kelly

Jefferson--Charles Cleveland

Johnston--Patti Rouse

Knoxville--Genni Eaglin

Le Mars--Paul Dalton

Manchester--Anna King

Maquoketa--Jim Sprague

Marion--Jan Mercer

Marshalltown-- Sue Sumpter

Mason City--Tonya Hermann

Monticello--Chris Sasina

Muscatine--Nancy Mathias

Nevada--Scott Hutzell

New Hampton--Chandra Quigley

Newton--Barbara Works

North Liberty--Steve Meyerholz

Norwalk--Patrick Fergus

Oelwein--Julie Bachman

Orange City--Beverly Schreur

Osceola--Patty Garner

Oskaloosa--Lorretta Beghtol

Ottumwa--Mary Fountain

Pella--Robin Pfalzgraf

Peosta--William Maus

Perry--Traci Lillie

Pleasant Hill--Ryan Maakestad

Polk City--Noelle Gibbons

Red Oak--Paul Olson

Sergeant Bluff--Carol Groves

Sheldon--Michael Hanlon

Shenandoah--Deborah Marshall

Sioux Center--Rob Haan

Sioux City--Steve Ebsen

Sioux City--Kris Schonrock

Sioux City--Pearl Freemont

Spencer--Wayne Williams

Spirit Lake--Diane Pinkerton

Storm Lake--Bob Wells

Tiffin--Deanne Schwarting

Toledo--Janelle Murty

Urbandale--Mike Sobieski

Vinton--David Thompson

Washington--Lisa Fowler

Waterloo--Trent Gerdes

Waukee--Henry Hyda

Waukon--Chad Hackett

Waverly--Ashley Corson

Webster City--Paris McNelly

West Des Moines--Marty Thompson

Winterset--Jeanie Burgher