Young Farmer Program

Young Farmer Program Join other young farmers across Iowa to continue your professional development and personal growth.

Young FarmersThe Young Farmer Program brings together young farmers from across the state of Iowa. The program, for farmers (age 18 - 35), provides leadership and participation opportunities to encourage young members to build a stronger network and become active in the organization and the agricultural community.

Through the Young Farmer Program, farmers have a chance to acquire cutting edge information through participation in educational conferences, earn recognition for their on-farm achievements and continue their professional development and personal growth.

Trips and Conferences

Young Farmer Trip

Young Farm Bureau members are invited to participate in an informative trip on Tuesday and Wednesday, July 12 & 13, 2016. Join young farmers from across the state of Iowa on a two day educational bus trip that provides the opportunity to learn and interact with other members. The destination is the Twin Cities area in Minnesota. Tours will include: CHS Savage Barge and Rail Terminal, SeedGrowth Equipment Innovation Center (Bayer CropScience) and Gedney Foods Company. Registration starts on Monday, February 8 on-line at

2017 Young Farmer Conference

Liveto farm, farm to live

Live to Farm, Farm to Live! Join 500 young farmers from across Iowa on January 27 - 28, 2017 for the 2017 Young Farmer Conference. New ideas, keynote speakers, breakout sessions, entertainment, fun and lots of new connections – all to help you grow and succeed. Register by Jan. 13 by contacting your County Farm Bureau. Child care available on-site.

Bob Joslin Award

This award is an opportunity for young farmers who are actively contributing and growing through their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture to earn recognition. County Farm Bureaus nominate deserving young leaders. Participants are judged on their involvement in agriculture and leadership ability. The Joslin Award winner will receive a $1500 Home and Workshop Certificate from John Deere, our award sponsor. Nominations are due August 31.

Congratulations to the 2015 Joslin Award winner - Stacie Euken from Cass County.

Achievement Award

This award recognizes young farmers for their efforts in growth and progress of their farming operation and leadership achievement. The key is the growth and financial progress the candidate(s) have made since they started farming. Candidates complete an application on their farm operation, financial information (confidentiality guaranteed) and leadership experience.

Applications are due March 15, 2016. The Top 3 applicants will complete additional information and go through a second round of judging. Final winners will be announced during the IFBF Annual Meeting in December. Prizes are awarded to the top three applicants. The Iowa winner will compete in the AFBF competition in Phoenix, AZ, in January 2017. Click here for more information on the contest and prizes.

We're pleased to announce that John Deere is the contest sponsor.

Congratulations to the 2015 Top 3
1st - Ben and Janelle Johnson, Plymouth County
2nd - Ben and Anna Bader, Black Hawk County
3rd - Chris and Jell Ten Naple, Sioux County

Young Farmer Advisory Committee


Young Farmer Advisory Committee

Contact your district representative for more information in Young Farmer activities in your area. View the commitee.

Are you interested in serving on the Young Farmer Advisory Committee? Learn more here.


Young Farmer Advisory Committee Officers

Chair: Jacob Handsaker, Hardin County
Vice-Chair: Leanne Kading, Adair County
Secretary: Mindy Handsaker, Hardin County
Historian: Bri Pullen, Clay County
PR Chair: Brianne Streck, Woodbury County

Discussion Meet

Individuals compete on a panel of three to six people in a free-wheeling style, as if they were sitting around the kitchen table discussing a problem. They exchange ideas and information to solve the problem. Each contestant is judged on cooperative attitude, problem solving & implementation, delivery and analysis of the topic. The five topics are current ag issues and are selected by the AFBF Young Farmer & Rancher Committee.

Congratulations to the 2015 winner Dakota Hoben from Story County.

The 2017 preliminary rounds will be held during the Young Farmer Conference, January 27 - 28. The top eight winners will advance to the state finals at the IFBF Annual Meeting in December. Prizes are awarded to the top four contestants. Click here for more information.

We're pleased to have John Deere as a sponsor of the contest.

2015 Discussion Meet Final Four

First place: Dakota Hoben, Story County, Second Place: Jessica Tekippe, Winneshiek County, Third Place: Alle Buck, Ringgold County, Fourth Place: Val Plagge, Franklin County

2016 Discussion Meet Finalists

Join us at the IFBF Annual Meeting on December 6 for the Young Farmer Discussion Meet Finals.
Alle Bailey, Ringgold County, Ryan Borcherding, Franklin County, Shamus Brown, Warren County, Donnie Conway, Monroe County, Daniel Garnett, Hamilton County, Joe Sweeney, Hardin County, Jessica Tekippe, Winneshiek County, Andrew Zwald, Muscatine County

James Holz, Greene, County, Cress Van Wyngarden, Marion County

Young Farmer Committee Spotlight

Meet some of Iowa’s young farm families who are part of our Young Farmer Advisory Committee.

Contact Info:

To learn more about Young Farmer programs and activities, contact Iowa Farm Bureau Leadership Training Manager Mary Foley Balvanz.