Organization proud of its 50-year history of financial support for youth education

With one in five jobs in Iowa being tied to agriculture, from seed science and veterinary medicine to precision technology to livestock building design, there are “fields of opportunities” in the state tied to this industry. To help students pursue these careers, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF), Iowa’s century-old, largest general farm organization, has awarded $180,000 in tuition scholarships to current or future students who will study agriculture in post-secondary school. The 180 selected students will each receive $1,000 to further their education.

 “Throughout our 100-year history, Farm Bureau has always had a strong belief in the youth of Iowa. By investing in our youth, we are investing in the future of Iowa. Since 1997, we’ve awarded 1,080 of these scholarships to help students pursue their dreams in the ag field,” said IFBF Community Resources Director Barb Lykins.  “We’re honored to help these young leaders get a start in their academic pursuits and help put them on a path to achieving their career goals.”

In addition, Lyndsey Paden of Donnellson was named the recipient of the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 award for a student from one of eleven counties in southeast Iowa: Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and Lee.  The scholarship is awarded in honor of the late Daniel Johnson, a former Iowa Farm Bureau director, farmer, volunteer firefighter and school board president. To be considered for this scholarship, a youth must have demonstrated quality academic performance, have two letters of recommendation submitted on their behalf and write an essay on how their chosen occupation will contribute to agriculture.

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in an accredited college, university or community college to earn two or four-year degrees, and whose parents are Farm Bureau members. Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing. 

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture and the rural community.  They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation.

Editor’s Note: First-time scholarship winners (listed alphabetically by hometown), parent names and future or current college are listed below.


Ackley, Taylor Sicard, Royce and Beth Sicard, Iowa State University

Algona, Alexis Berte, Patrick and Nancy Berte, Iowa State University

Atlantic, Emily Saeugling, Aaron and Danna Saeugling, Iowa State University

Audubon, McKenna Nielsen, Randy and Melanie Larsen, Morningside College

Aurelia, Wyatt Tuttle, Tim Tuttle, Iowa Lakes Community College

Bedford, Kolton Jackson, Andy and Jolyn Jackson, Iowa State University

Blairstown, Christian Atkinson, Karen and Beau Brecht, Iowa State University

Boone, Landra Reece, Tim and Robyn Reece, University of Wyoming

Cambridge, Dana Edelman, Marty Edelman and Krista Krafka, South Dakota State University

Carroll, Ryan Feauto, Jim and Janet Feauto, Dordt College

Clarinda, Hunter Crawford, George and Katie Crawford, Iowa State University

Columbus Junction, Laura Mincks, Lois Mincks and the late Tim Mincks, Iowa State University

Columbus Junction, Thomas Pretz, Mike and Dayle Pretz, Iowa State University

Corydon, Macey Goretska, Tracy and Mandi Goretska, Iowa State University

Crawfordsville, Kristen Twinam, Layne and Paulette Twinam, Iowa State University

DeWitt, Derek Henningsen, Terry and Jennifer Henningsen, Iowa State University

Dumont, Lexis Kalkwarf, Todd Kalkwarf and Jenni Swart, North Iowa Area Community College

Earlville, Amanda Engelken, Tom and Cherrie Engelken, Northeast Iowa Community College

Estherville, Morgan White, Brad and Jill White, Iowa State University

Fairfax, Courtney Vondracek, Kevin and Joan Vondracek, Iowa State University

Gilman, Erin Patterson, Mark and Marsha Patterson, Iowa State University

Greene, Jared Feldman, Troy and Teresa Feldman, Iowa State University

Griswold, Riley Smith, Donald and Amy Smith, Northwest Missouri State University

Hamburg, Matthew Stenzel, Steven and Wendi Stenzel, Iowa State University

Harlan, Chad Schechinger, Chad and Amberly Schechinger, Iowa State University

Harlan, Tyler Buman, Jeff and Janet Buman, Iowa State University

Ida Grove, Anna Van Dusen, Scott and Denise Van Dusen, Morningside College

Indianola, Kennady Moffitt, Damen and Stacy Moffitt, Iowa State University

Keota, Brooke Beinhart, Nick Beinhart and Stacy Konz, Iowa State University

Knoxville, Camryn Norton, Louis Norton and Lora Mattson, University of Iowa

La Porte City, Wesley Hanson, Maureen and Robert Hanson, University of Iowa

Lacona, Kaleb Miller, Randy and Sheila Miller, Iowa State University

Lake Mills, Bridget Saxton, Marty and Linda Saxton, Northeast Iowa Community College

Liscomb, Lauren Mosher, Jim and Brenda Mosher, Iowa State University

Luana, Benjamin Lenth, Terry and DeAnn Lenth, Iowa State University

Lynnville, McKinley Conover, Ben and Tara Conover, Iowa State University

Mediapolis, Samuel Lane, Brad and Jennifer Lane, Iowa State University

Mount Ayr, Eian Adams, Charles and Donnel Adams, Iowa State University

New Hampton, Hannah Heit, Mike and Lena Heit, Iowa State University

New Sharon, Bailey Wanders, Kenny and Marcy Wanders, Iowa State University

Orange City, Meghan Hettinga, Jason and Mary Hettinga, South Dakota State University

Osage, Claire Sullivan, Tim and Jenny Sullivan, Luther College

Peru, Jacob Al-Mazroa, Paul and Darla Millhollin, Iowa State University

Rockwell, Chase Pibal, Brian and Sara Pibal, University of South Dakota

Saint Lucas, Lucas Anderson, David and Amanda Anderson, Wartburg College

Spencer, Brenda Van Hofwegen, Dwayne and Sharon Postma, Northwest Iowa Community College

Spencer, Emma Schwarck, Kurt and Julie Schwarck, Iowa State University

Sperry, Ashley Lohmann, Kim and Scott Lohmann, Iowa State University

Storm Lake, Thomas Demers, David and Georgia Demers, Iowa State University

Titonka, Cole Eden, Daryl and Joanne Eden, Iowa State University

Walcott, Drake Golinghorst, Dennis and Pam Golinghorst, Iowa State University

Waukon, Gabrielle Marti, Richard and Elisha Marti, Iowa State University

Webster City, Madalyn Casady, Ryan and Michelle Casady, Iowa State University

Westgate, Jalyn Brownell, Brad and Kristi Brownell, Iowa State University