The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) Young Farmer Advisory Committee elected new officers, and welcomed three new district representatives to their committee at their summer meeting last weekend. The new committee officers include:

Jacob Handsacker, Hardin County, Chair

Leanne Kading, Adair County, Vice-Chair

Mindy Handsacker, Hardin County, Secretary

Bri Pullen, Clay County, Historian

Brianne Streck, Woodbury County, PR Chair

Jacob and Mindy Handsacker, both graduates of Iowa State University, reside on a farm in Radcliffe, with their three children. Jacob owns Hands on Excavating LLC, and has transitioned to a full-time position on his family’s farming operation consisting of corn, soybeans, and the custom feeding of hogs. Mindy, who recently took a position with North Central Iowa Ag in the Classroom, works to teach young children to expand their knowledge of agriculture.  She also takes her ‘homework’ home, where she contributes to the operation of the farm, and teaches her young children to become advocates for agriculture.

Leanne lives on a farm between Adair and Casey in Adair County with her husband Phillip and their three children. Leanne, formerly involved in the hotel industry, is now active in the day-to-day challenges of raising young children and contributing to their family’s corn, soybeans, oats and hay farm.

Bri, a veteran of our United States Air Force and current para-educator, currently resides in Clay County with her husband Ben. They are both new representatives added to the committee this year and involved in a small sheep and hay operation. Like many other young farmers today, though, they balance their other off-farm work and strive to farm full-time.

Brianne and her husband Grant live on a small corn and soybean operation near Moville with their two daughters. Brianne often assists her parents and husband in their family farming operations, but also works off farm at Flint Hills Resources in Arthur as a merchandiser communicating with farmers to buy their corn.

Additional new representatives added to the committee include Brian and Steva Haeflinger, District 1, and Michael and Mary Beth Jackson, District 8. The new committee members will each serve a three-year term acting as communicators for their districts.

The IFBF Young Farmer Program, available for Farm Bureau members ages 18-35, provides leadership and participation opportunities to nurture the prosperity of young farmers and their families. The program advisory committee plans various events around the state each year, including an annual statewide conference each January that has doubled in attendance over the past four years.  

Iowa Farm Bureau young farmer advisory committee officers

Caption:  Iowa Farm Bureau young farmer advisory committee officers pictured left to right:  PR Chair: Brianne Streck, Woodbury County; Vice-Chair: Leanne Kading, Adair County; Chair: Jacob Handsaker, Hardin County; Secretary: Mindy Handsaker, Hardin County; and Historian: Bri Pullen, Clay County

 Caption:  Current and former members of the Iowa Farm Bureau young farmer advisory committee