The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships to 179 emerging young leaders majoring in agriculture, nursing or education at their chosen university or college. 

“Iowa Farm Bureau takes pride in the strength of our state’s agricultural backbone, and we are honored to support our youth across the state who want to continue that strong tradition,” said Ronnette Vondrak, IFBF community resources manager.  

In addition to the 179 IFBF scholarship recipients (consisting of 54 first-time recipients and 125 renewed scholarships), Malorie Probasco of Davis County received the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, awarded in honor of the late Daniel Johnson, a former Iowa Farm Bureau director, farmer, volunteer firefighter and school board president. 

This one-time $500 award is reserved for a student from one of 11 counties in southeast Iowa: Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and...