Matt Bormann and Nancy Bohl Bormann of Kossuth County earned the Iowa Farm Bureau’s 2013 Young Farmer Achievement Award at the organization’s annual meeting last week in Des Moines.

The annual award honors young farmers who show outstanding management ability in their farming operations and involvement in Farm Bureau and community activities.

Kevin Pope of Cerro Gordo County placed second in the Achievement Award competition, while Bonnie Larson of Ringgold County placed third.

The Bormanns, who farm near LuVerne, grow conventional corn and soybeans, as well as seed corn and seed soybeans. They custom-feed 500 head of hogs and constructed...