Farm Bureau awards $180,000 to current and future college students

With one in five Iowa jobs tied to agriculture, there are many agricultural-based career opportunities for Iowa students to pursue.  The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships for tuition to 180 students who plan to study agriculture at their chosen colleges and universities.  Iowa’s next generation of leaders in agriculture will study a variety of areas ranging from animal science and genetics to agriculture business and agriculture education.    

In addition, Laura Mincks of Louisa County was named the recipient of the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 award for a student from one of eleven counties in southeast Iowa: Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and Lee.  The scholarship is awarded in honor of the late Daniel Johnson, a former Iowa Farm Bureau director, farmer, volunteer firefighter and school board president.  

Ellenore Boas of Wapello County was named the recipient of the Edward W. and Isabelle M. Klodt Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 award for a Wapello County student pursuing a degree in agriculture.  The Klodts were community leaders, progressive farmers, and conservationists focused on the future and improving their farm and community.  The memorial scholarship embodies the values that Ed and Isabelle represented: leadership, hard work, dedication to others, and a belief in higher education. 

“These scholarships help students pursue their dreams and so many of those career aspirations include agriculture or support jobs in rural communities. We’re honored to assist these future leaders get a start in their academic pursuits and help them with their educational goals,” said IFBF Community Resources Director Barb Lykins. 

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in their chosen college or university.  Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing with the college or university. 

Six recipients were selected from each of the nine IFBF districts.  Scholarships were awarded to children of Farm Bureau members who plan to or currently attend an accredited college, university or community college to earn two or four-year degrees.

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture and the rural community.  They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation. 

Editor’s Note: First-time scholarship winners (listed alphabetically by hometown), parent names and future or current college are listed below.


Ackley, Justin Bartling, Steve and Michelle Bartling, Kirkwood Community College

Bloomfield, Clarabell Knapp, Bruce and Jeri Knapp, Iowa State University

Bloomfield, Kalleigh Tharp, Jeffrey and Denise Tharp, Northwest Missouri State University

Bryant, Brad Holdgrafer, Gary and Lisa Holdgrafer, Iowa State University

Casey, Zoey Dinkla, Dallas and Romonia Dinkla, Iowa State University

Cedar Rapids, Kelsey Wenger, Wade and Jennifer Wenger, Coe College

Charles City, Hanna Bjelica, Tom and Roxann Bjelica, Iowa State University

Clarksville, James Schellhorn, Daryl and Debby Schellhorn, Iowa State University

Creston, Sydney Dunphy, Tim and Allison Dunphy, Iowa State University

Decorah, Garret Hemesath, Keith and Linda Hemesath, Iowa State University

Denver, Jennifer Wiley, Nick and Lori Wiley, Wartburg College

Douds, Jacinta Wenke, Theodore and Michelle Wenke, Iowa State University

Durango, Theresa Brehm, Steve and Sharon Brehm, Iowa State University

Eldora, Emily Mitchell, David and Jennifer Mitchell, University of Northern Iowa

Elma, Lydia Beran, Kyle and Deb Beran, Iowa State University

Fort Atkinson, Ashley Kurash, Allan and Teresa Kurash, Viterbo University

Grafton, Caylee Bartz, Curtis and Caren Bartz, University of Northern Iowa

Hartley, Jennifer Vander Lee, Gary and Jayne Vander Lee, Iowa State University

Inwood, Rebecca Van Regenmorter, Chad and Jody Van Regenmorter, South Dakota State University

Kellogg, Caleb Jansen, David and Lisa Jansen, Iowa State University

Keota, McKenna Brinning, Shane and Kathleen Brinning, Iowa State University

Knoxville, Jenna Kauzlarich, Rick and Sue Kauzlarich, Northwest Missouri State University

Knoxville, Travis Poffenbarger, Bryan and Melissa Poffenbarger, Iowa State University

La Porte City, Mitchell Hanson, Bob and Maureen Hanson, Iowa State University

Lamoni, Austin Tull, Travis and Chrissy Tull, Iowa State University

Larchwood, Grace Rens, Jerry and Lori Rens, Iowa State University

Le Mars, Caitlyn Niehus, Curt and Rochelle Niehus, University of Northern Iowa

Lewis, Natalia Kunze, Brad and Christine Kunze, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Madrid, Mary Heiller, Tim and Vicki Heiller, Iowa State University

Madrid, Sarah Heiller, Tim and Vicki Heiller, Iowa State University

Marshalltown, Garrett Nichols, Brad and Marci Nichols, Iowa State University

Middle Amana, Megan Lukas, Allen and Amy Lukas, Iowa State University

Milo, Bryant Seuferer, Rande and Linda Seuferer, Central College

Mondamin, Trenton Houston, Amy Houston-Stolz, the late Eric Houston, and Ryan Stolz, Iowa State University

Monticello, Zach Timm, John and Joanne Timm, Iowa State University

Moorland, Leslie Loehr, Jeffrey and Lorie Loehr, Iowa State University

Mount Ayr, Reilly Martinez, Tracy Kelley and Rene Martinez, Northwest Missouri State University

Muscatine, Rachel Schoer, Brian and Traci Schoer, Iowa State University

Osceola, Jenna Sandquist, Steve and Stephanie Sandquist, Iowa State University

Portsmouth, Logan Peters, Ernest and Lori Peters, Iowa State University

Riverside, Macy Marek, Tim and Heather Marek, Iowa State University

Rockwell City, Haley Birks, Dave and Jill Birks, Northwestern College

Royal, Tari Knock, Brent and Jessica Knock, University of South Dakota

Russell, Madison Briggs, Kevin and Karri Briggs, Graceland University

Sac City, Nicole Langbein, Gary and Melissa Langbein, Morningside College

Schaller, Sage Bennett, Kyle and Robin Bennett, Northwest Missouri State University

Stacyville, Nicole Hemann, John and Sherry Hemann, Hawkeye Community College

Stanton, Marcel Confer, Ken and Wendy Confer, Northwest Missouri State University

Storm Lake, Anna Ehlers, Brent and Carol Ehlers, Iowa State University

Templeton, Alex Irlbeck, Glen and Anne Irlbeck, Iowa State University

Tingley, Shaley Miller, Jeremy and Barb Weeda, Southwestern Community College

Titonka, Levi Eden, Daryl and Joanne Eden, Iowa State University

What Cheer, Trevor Clemens, Lisa Icenbice, Washington State University

Winthrop, Holly Cook, Aaron and Patricia Cook, Iowa State University