Eight young farmers advanced to the final rounds of the 2024 Young Farmer Discussion Meet after competing at the Iowa Farm Bureau Young Farmer Conference Feb. 2-3 in Altoona.

The finalists are Joy Van Wyngarden, Mahaska County; Randy Francois, Buchanan County; Larissa Schippers, Mahaska County; Jarret Horn, Jasper County; Coltin Schachtner, Pocahontas County; Dani Rehder, O’Brien County; Sierra Hagedon, Tama County; and Kyle Larsen, Humboldt County. Alternates include Lauren Britton, Boone County, and Amanda Hoefler, Dubuque County.

Finalists will receive coaching throughout the year to prepare for the state Young Farmer Discussion Meet at the 2024 Iowa Farm Bureau annual meeting in December. 

Prizes are awarded to the top four state finishers. 

The winner will advance to the national Young Farmer Discussion Meet at the 2025 American Farm Bureau annual meeting in San Antonio.