Kjos, Sundblad, and Buskohl re-elected to State Board of Directors

Craig Hill of Milo was re-elected president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) for a two-year term at the organization’s 97th annual meeting in Des Moines.      Hill has served as IFBF president since 2011.  His Farm Bureau leadership began with the Warren County Farm Bureau before being elected as the District 8 representative on the state board in 1989 and later served as IFBF vice president from 2001-2011.  As IFBF president, Hill serves as chairman of the board of FBL Financial Group, Inc., and Farm Bureau Life Companies.  In addition, he serves on the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) board of directors.  Hill, his wife Patti, have a daughter, Abbie, and son, Adam, who helps grow corn and soybeans and raise livestock on their Warren County farm.

Delegates also re-elected Carlton Kjos of Winneshiek County, Phil Sundblad of Buena Vista County, and Mark Buskohl of Grundy County to the state board of directors.  Each director will serve a three-year term.

Kjos represents District 1, which consists of 11 counties in northeast Iowa.  Kjos was elected to the state board in 2006.  Before assuming this potions, Kjos served in numerous leadership capacities as a member of the Winneshiek County Farm Bureau, including the offices of county president, vice president, voting delegate, internal study member, AFBF voting delegate, PAC committee member, and chairman of the beef advisory committee.  Kjos and his wife Cynthia raise corn, soybeans, alfalfa, oats, and have a cow/calf herd on their farm that has been in the family since 1862. 

Sundblad represents District 3, which consists of 12 counties in northwest Iowa.  He was elected to the state board in 2000.  Prior to serving as District 3 director, Sundblad served in several leadership positions within the Buena Vista County Farm Bureau including the offices of president, vice president, voting delegate, and treasurer.  Sundblad and his wife Brenda grow corn and soybeans on their farm near Albert City.  Additionally, Sundblad serves as president of a locally-owned wind farm in Palo Alto County.

Buskohl represents District 5, comprised of 11 counties in central Iowa.  He was elected to the state board in 2012.  Prior to serving as District 5 director, Buskohl held various leadership positions within the Grundy County Farm Bureau including county president, vice president, voting delegate, AFBF voting delegate, internal study member, and served on various state committees.  Buskohl and his wife Nancy run a diversified farm consisting of a cow/calf herd, cattle feedlot, hog finishing, flock of sheep, corn, soybeans, and hay. 

Nine delegates were elected to represent Iowa at the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida, January 8-13.  They include: IFBF President Craig Hill of Warren County; IFBF Vice President Joe Heinrich of Jackson County; Doug Gronau of Crawford County; Dave Seil of Webster County; Jennifer Cash of Cerro Gordo County; Mary Van Zante of Marion County; Kevin Poen of Calhoun County; Derek Von Ahsen of Iowa County; and Trent Stalzer of Hardin County.  Terry Murray of Buena Vista County was elected as an alternate.

Joe Dierickx of Clinton County was elected to a three-year term on the IFBF internal study committee.  The internal study committee serves as a liaison between the county Farm Bureau voting delegates and the state board of directors.