Iowa Farm Bureau Scholarship Program



Eligibility

- Application must be submitted through the online lowa Farm Bureau portal. Click here to apply.
- Students must complete the application and upload all required documents by Wednesday, January 31, 2024.
- Students or a parent/guardian must be a current Farm Bureau member and reside in Iowa.
- Applicants must apply in the county where the Farm Bureau membership is held. If he/she has a membership in
 more than one county the application can only be submitted to one county Farm Bureau office within the state
 of lowa. For more information and to become a member go to www.iowafarmbureau.com/join.
- Students must be in good standing with the county Farm Bureau and the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF).
- Students must be a graduating high school student with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.5 on 4.0 scale or equivalent. **College and graduate students are not eligible to apply.**
- Current cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) is required.
- Students must be accepted into an accredited institution of higher education (i.e., Technical College, Junior College, Community College, College or University).
- Must be seeking a major and/or minor in an ag-related field or one that will support rural lowa.
- Students must be involved in school activities (i.e., 4-H, FFA, Honor Society, Student Council, etc.).
- Students must demonstrate leadership abilities, community involvement and volunteer efforts.
- Students must submit an essay outlining commitment to agriculture and rural lowa (not to exceed 1,000 words).
- Current high school transcripts are required; a signature by an authorized school official or identified with a school seal/logo is preferred.
- Two-character reference letters from teachers, counselors, community leaders or clergy are required.

Available Scholarships

1. Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) State Scholarships

IFBF will award 27 graduating high school seniors from lowa (three from each of IFBF's nine districts) a \$2,500 scholarship, renewable for four years (up to \$10,000 per recipient) that is *applied to tuition fees only*; to qualify for the IFBF scholarship renewal, the recipient must continue to meet the scholarship requirements annually.

2. Local County Farm Bureau Scholarships

Many of Iowa's 100 county Farm Bureaus have a local scholarship program; however, eligibility, availability and scholarship amounts vary. For more information, contact your <u>local County Farm Bureau office</u>.

3. Memorial Scholarships (applied to tuition fees only)

- a. Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship a one-time \$500 scholarship that is awarded to one student from IFBF District 7 (Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Washington, and Van Buren counties) who is pursuing a degree in agriculture.
- **b.** Edward W. & Isabelle M. Klodt Memorial Scholarship a one-time \$500 scholarship that is awarded annually to one student from Wapello county.
- c. Robert H. Rewoldt Memorial Scholarship a \$3,000, renewable scholarship for two years (up to \$6,000 per recipient) that is awarded annually to two students from IFBF District 1 (Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek counties) who are pursuing a two-or four-year degree in agriculture from an Iowa-based institution.

Selection Process/Disbursement Dates:

- Students need to complete and submit only <u>one</u> online application <u>by Wednesday, January 31, 2024</u>, to be considered for all lowa Farm Bureau scholarships.
- Local county Farm Bureau offices will select recipients of the county Farm Bureau Scholarships (if applicable) and <u>one</u> application that will be forwarded for consideration of the IFBF State Scholarships by March 15; three applicants per district (27 total) will be selected for the IFBF Renewable Scholarships. Recipients who meet eligibility requirements for the Memorial Scholarships will also be selected from this applicant pool.
- All Iowa Farm Bureau scholarship recipients will be notified by April 25; renewal information and disbursement dates will be included.